Each year, the Toronto Alliance for the Performing Arts (TAPA) gathers to celebrate artists and creators from the previous year to honour their work and distinguish those who stood out at the annual Dora Mavor Moore Awards. 

The awards show celebrates over 200 productions that have taken place in Toronto over the past year, highlighting notable recipients and excellence in performance. Now in its 37th year, the 2016 Dora Awards will take place on June 27 at the Harbourfront Centre's open-air concert stage with special host Bruce Dow taking the helms of this year's event. 

The Theatre Reader once again joined the unveiling of this year's nominees and recipients of three major awards on May 30 at the Sony Centre for the Performing Arts. The recipients are as follows:

Recipient of the Pauline McGibbon Award is Jennifer Wonnacott of the Stratford Festival. 

Recipient of the Barbara Hamilton Memorial Award is George Randolph of the Randolph Academy. 

Recipient of the Leonard McHardy and John Harvey Award for Outstanding Leadership in Administration is Nancy Webster of Young People's Theatre. 

Tickets for this event will go on sale May 31 through the Harbourfront Centre's box office. For a full list of this year's nominees, please click here. 


Written by Diane Flacks

Directed by Edward Roy

Musical Direction by Waylen Miki

Lighting and Production Design by Andrea Lundy

Produced by Jacoba Knaapen